Saga Part 1

April 17, 2009 at 10:52 pm (The Saga, Writing Journal) ()

The Beginning

Although this is a brand new blog, my involvement with vampires goes back a long ways. The first short story I ever wrote was about the only psychic crew member of a spaceĀ  expedition who lands on a planet of telepathic vampires.

But that isn’t where Darkhour Vampires begin.

My daughter’s teenage years (1982-1986) were not easy on her mother. Not bad, mind you. Just difficult. Perhaps that is why Prane was born. A mother of two typical teenagers, who just also happened to be a vampire.

I liked the idea of being a mother with super human powers. I liked the idea of having a secret identity. An identity that was cool and neat, besides being just plain old Mom. So I wrote “Mother’s Love”. Prane witnesses a murder and is herself shot. The gunman sees her “fang out”. She must find the gunman before the cops do and keep him from talking about vampires . The setting was straight out of our lives. The kids went to the same high school as my daughter, North High, in Salem Oregon. The shooting occurred in our local Safeway parking lot.

There was something very satisfying about the story, but I never did anything with it. I wrote it and its sequel “Neighborhood Watch” mostly as therapy.

