Saga Part 8

April 27, 2009 at 1:05 am (The Saga, Writing Journal) ()

Brave New World

In the world of the Internet, 6 years is a very long time. Lot has happened. Social networks, blogs, twitter. I feel as though I am starting from scratch.

May 1st I start a class on how to create a Blog Book Tour. First assignment is to have a blog that is updated daily. I suppose I could have used one of my existing blogs, but they focus on mystery, marketing, and book reviews. But that isn’t where I want my focus to be. I want my focus to be on finishing my Darkhour Vampire books. So I decided to start a new blog, but what do I want this blog to be about?

Blogs started out as online journals, people writing down what was going on in their lives, their feelings, their opinions, and some were clever and interesting and people started reading them. Then people started creating blogs that dealt with one subject, a source of information for others about a a topic of interest, then others began using them as a marketing tool. The problem with blogging is that you have to have something interesting to say, something of value to read.

So what do I have of interesting to say? Well I am already writing a self help blog, describing ideas about marketing. I am also using a blog to publish and store  my book reviews. I am also promoting other mystery writers On Wings of Murder.

What I haven’t done is the personal journal style, but I’m not sure how interesting my comments about writing will be, or how valuable. I remembered how I enjoyed my column at Suite101, writing about vampires, vampire literature, and interviewing vampire authors. I’d like to revisit some of the authors and find out what they have been up to in the last six years. Update some of my articles from then and republish them.

The term Urban Fantasy didn’t exist in 2000.  This is a whole new genre and one I am looking forward to exploring. I hope you will join me on this journey of discovery and adventure.

