Humor

May 3, 2009 at 4:44 pm (The Art of Blogging) ()

I was reading the blogs of several of my fellow Blog Book Tour classmates and I notice that they are interesting reading, lively, humorous. So how do you make vampires humorous?Or sound humorous when you are fighting depression and 3 weeks of being sick with a flu bug.

I finally went to the doctor today, but of course I’m already on the mend. Poor doctor, looked me over, desperate to find something that would make it worth his time and mine. So he says one nostril is irritated. Of course it is, I had a bloody nose the other day. So he says maybe I have an infection, and he gives me the antibiotics, which I take gratefully, because after 3 weeks of being sick, I am sick and tired of it. I want to be well. So will the little green pills help? Or just fool my mind into thinking me better? At this point, I just don’t care.

The worse part has been an absolutely awful taste in my mouth. You know that wake-up-in-the-morning taste, like several armies have bivouacked overnight in your mouth. Even water tastes foul. Stomach doesn’t want to eat. So at the doctor’s office, I climb on the scale and discover I’ve actually lost 9 pounds.

Now I’m thinking a new diet fad, the Flu Bug Diet. Do you think it would catch on? I wonder what has caused the awful taste in my mouth.  Could I come up with something harmless that would cause that terrible taste, and change the flavor of foods, so we don’t want to eat?  I remember something about no calorie flavorings you sprayed on your tongue to curb cravings, but those were supposed to be good tasting, not foul. Would anyone deliberately choose to have all foods taste strange? Would we become use to the strange taste after awhile and the appetite would return?

So I was talking to my husband about humor and writing humorous blogs and he says the essential of humor is surprise. We laugh at the unexpected, the surprise. So have I surprised you? Managed to entertain you with my speculations about Flu Bug Diets and gross foul tastes in the mouth?

Tomorrow or the next day, I plan to start exploring vampire literature, but it is too serious of a topic and I still feel too sick to deal with it today. But  I have managed to write my blog for the day, as poor as it might be. Right now I’m off to take another one of those little green pills the doctor gave me and take a nap.

1 Comment

  1. NA Sharpe said,

    Oh Linda I am so sorry to hear about your bout with the flu. I can empathize with you I didn’t think I was ever going to get rid of it this year…it would leave for a couple weeks then come back for two or three more weeks. Try to get some rest.

    I’m looking forward to hearing about vampires!
    Feel better

    NA Sharpe
    http://nancysharpe.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.

