Journal

May 13, 2009 at 1:47 am (Writing Journal)

May 1st, I started an online class, Blog Book Tours. This class is teaching me a lot about social networking, blogging, and how to create and run my own virtual book tour. The first assignments were to start blogging and Twittering every day and to visit and comment on other classmates blogs. It is a very active yahoo group, with lots of emails to read. I have spent the last week trying to catch up on all the emails, visiting sites, and most of all trying to post every day. I started a series on Vampire Literature and found myself working long hours reading and writing about the classic vampire stories. I complained to my teacher that I was feeling overwhelmed and that blogging was definitely taking too much of my time. Her suggestion was to create a schedule, and some days do simple things.

So here is my schedule:

Sun: A book recommendation (Vampire books that I have liked and think you will like.)
Mon: My Journal
Tues: Art of Blogging
Wed: Vampire Literature Past and Future
Thurs: Interested in Vampires
Fri: Guest or visit an interesting Vampire or Urban Fantasy site
Sat: Darkhour Vampires visited (especially hear what Prane and Valentine have to say.)

Yes, I know that I’m not quite following the schedule this week, but I already had a Vampire Literature article scheduled for Monday, so I switched. I’ll try to stick to the schedule, but I’m not going to hold to it, hard and fast.

As for the Darkhour Vampire Saga, I am struggling in my mind to outline what has been happening with Thom and Valentine during the past 20 years and what has been going on regarding California House politics. I was driving to the doctor’s the other day and had a couple of ideas float to the surface, but haven’t had a chance to follow them yet, so they are still floating, but as soon as I get my blogging done, I hope to have time to work on them.

4 Comments

  1. Jina Bacarr said,

    I like your blogging outline. Fascinating, intriguing topics. Look forward to upcoming posts.

    Jina

    http://tinyurl.com/BerlinSexDiary

  2. Destineers said,

    I like the suggestion of the schedule and think I probably need to do the same. I am spending way too much time trying to figure out what to blog about.

    I definitely enjoy the part of the class about visiting the other blogs. I am enjoying your vampire blogs. We have such a diverse class.

    NA Sharpe
    http://nasharpe.blogspot.com

  3. Patricia Stoltey said,

    Linda, the schedule is right on. I’m doing one for myself as well.

    In the spirit of recommending Colorado authors as I love to do, I’d like to give you some info you can perhaps use when you feature other vampire writers (actually, I mean writers in the vampire genre). Lynda Hilburn is the author of The Vampire Shrink and Dark Harvest. I did an interview with her last year for the Sisters in Crime-Rocky Mountain Chapter. It’s here: http://tinyurl.com/oeu2ll

    Patricia
    http://patriciastoltey.blogspot.com

  4. Enid Wilson said,

    Seem a good schedule. And when you don’t stick to it, you can call those moments surprises for readers.

    In Quest of Theta Magic

Comments are closed.

