Journal

June 11, 2009 at 6:42 pm (Writing Journal) (, )

I had to add to my skimpy Sunday post. I sat and read The Langauge of Bees by Laurie R. King until almost 11 pm, but I had still about an inch of paper to go through. Should I stay up and keep reading? The adult part of me tells me to go to bed, because Monday would be a busy day. Still the obsessive compulsive part of me wailed that I couldn’t stop until I was finished. So to shut that part up, I finally  skipped to the end of the book and read the last few pages. That satisfied me enough so that I could go to bed.

It was actually Tuesday before I got back to the book. After all I knew how it was going to end, so I didn’t need to hurry.

But this time when it turned bed time, I was only a few pages away, so I stayed up. But it was after midnight before I finished the book. The Language of Bees is the latest in a series about Sherlock Holmes, but this is a much older Sherlock Holmes. After retiring he met a young girl, Mary Russell, and in her found a kindred spirit, a brilliant detective, an assistant, a partner, and later his wife. I have loved every book in the series and The Language of Bees didn’t disappoint me. I didn’t want to finish the book, I wanted more. In fact the book pulled an “Empire Strikes Back” on me. While the story is finished we are left hanging with lots of unanswered question.  I was so frustrated I went to Luarie King’s website and was pleased to find out that the sequel The Greenman is due out in 2010. Still not very satisfactory, but since it was 4 years between The Language of Bees and it’s predecessor The Locked Room, it could have been worse.

So what does this have to do with vampires? Nothing, although Sherlock Holmes did have a story about the Suxxex Vampire, which I’ll have to look up and read again since my mind draws a blank.

But besides vampires, I love mysteryin all its variation.  But I love mystery and vampires even more. I’m trying to incorprate a bit of mystery into my Darkhour Vampires, as I incorporate a bit of vampires in my Fantasy detective story, Eyes of Truth.


Share

