“I don’t like vampires,” she said. Part 2

June 12, 2009 at 1:17 am (Guests, Guests, Sites, or Books) (, , , )

Patricia Stoltey

Patricia Stoltey

Linda Suzane

Linda Suzane

Patricia Stoltey made a comment that she didn’t like vampires or werewolves, and I said I’d be interesting in finding out why. So though neither one of us had done much chatting, we managed to connect. This turned out to be a long chat, so I broke it into two parts. Continued from June 5, 2009.


—– Our chat on Mon, 6/1/09 4:35 PM —–

Linda: So why don’t you like vampires?

Patricia Stoltey: This one is a lot more complicated. The earlier vampire movies weren’t all that scary to me. The old stars, by the time I saw them, were just silly. I think when I really started getting freaked out was when I read “Interview With a Vampire.” After reading that one, I couldn’t even try “The Vampire Lestat” for several years. After that, I quit until I decided to read Lynda’s book because I wanted to make her interview better. Vampires are a tangled mess of erotica and death and the sad thought of living
forever when everyone else dies around you, etc. etc.

Linda: I’m trying to remember “Interview,” I tried reading it, but never really got into it, finally finished it, but I didn’t think it was such a great book.

Patricia Stoltey: There’s something troubling to me about the popularity of vampire lovers…I sure wouldn’t want one of those guys showing up at my door, no matter how sexy looking he was.

Linda: I’ve done a lot of thinking about why I do like vampires. I think it is about having power, not living a long time. My short story was about a mother of 2 typical teenagers who also happened to be a vampire, an identity she kept secret. I wrote it when my daughter was a teenager. I felt weak and powerless in the face of a rebellious teenage daughter and the thought of have a cool secret identity and being powerful was a strong draw.

Patricia Stoltey: Ah, power. That’s interesting. I think, however, I’d choose to be a secret Wonder Woman (laughing). Don’t like the taste of blood all that much.

Linda: Vampires are for a lot of people about giving into our fantasies, yes, even erotica, being seduced, powerless, giving into pleasure, and yet the creature himself is the ultimate victim, he succumbs every dawn.

Patricia Stoltey: And wouldn’t vampire power be more like the power obtained by selling one’s soul to the devil? Which also makes a great story, but once done (according to literature) the deed can rarely be undone.

Linda: My vampires are typical, sell your soul to the devil. They are actually an infection, a blood disease, which 5% of the population can catch.

Patricia Stoltey: Sure hope I don’t get it.

Linda: Oh, you have to be bitten, actually exchange blood 3 times. But you probably wouldn’t know it, they have the ability to wipe your memory, or use the fact that you don’t believe in vampires to convince you that it didn’t happen.

Patricia Stoltey: But wouldn’t I then start craving blood and eyeing my friends’ necks?

Patricia Stoltey: I have a lot of trouble with putting vampires into YA lit.

Linda: For YA, they are the ultimate outsider, which is what most YA literature is about, dealing with feelings of being the outsider.

Patricia Stoltey: I can see the outsider thing. That makes sense.

Linda: Yep, that’s why YA vampire literature was popular even before Twilight. There are some really good books, like Amelia Atwater- Rhodes series Den of Shadows series or Annette Curtis Klause’s Blood & Chocolate just to mention a couple.

Patricia Stoltey: I didn’t know that. I thought the Twilight series brought the idea to the youngsters.

Linda: Nope, Vampires aren’t new to YA literature. Twilight is just the latest, and possible not even the best.

Patricia Stoltey: It’s doubtful I’ll ever become a fan of vampires, but, as far as werewolves go, I have to admit I’m a fan of Native American mysteries involving shape shifters. And werewolves are a form of shapeshifter.

Linda: I agree. I probably won’t write about werewolves, but I enjoy reading the new Urban Fantasies, such as Patricia Briggs’s about a coyote shapeshifter from Kennewick Washington, Carrie Vaughn’s series about a D.J. who happens to be a werewolf.

Patricia Stoltey: Great. I can’t believe nearly half an hour has gone by so fast.

Linda: I know you’ve got to go fix dinner. Thanks for sharing with me.

Patricia Stoltey: This was great fun. Yes, must go fix food for husband. SO he doesn’t turn into a werewolf or something. So Bye.

Patricia Stoltey is a mystery writer. Her latest THE DESERT HEDGE MURDERS will be available in August 2009 from Five Star. It is the second in the Sylvia and Willie mystery series. The first is THE PRAIRIE GRASS MURDERS. We are members of an online class, Blog Book Tours.

You can find Patricia at
http://www.patriciastoltey.com/index.html
http://patriciastoltey.blogspot.com/


Share

1 Comment

  1. Patricia Stoltey said,

    Linda, Thanks again for doing this fun chat with me on vampires and werewolves. I can’t claim I’ll become more tolerant of the horrid creatures, but I must say I’m loving the authors of vampire stories. I’m fascinated that such really nice people can write about such creepy things, but I suppose that’s not much different from really nice writers (like me) who focus on murder.

Comments are closed.

